Intermediate and advanced Summer Intensives

Take your training to the next level this summer with BBT

Join BBT’s core faculty alongside several acclaimed guest teachers for a summer intensive experience designed to challenge dancers in all levels while also reinvigorating their love of dance. Classes in ballet, pointe, pas de deux, variations, choreography, Pilates, street jazz, capoeira, and more will be offered throughout the summer, offering students a chance to push themselves, try something new, and grow in new and exciting ways.

Dancers currently enrolled at BBT should plan to take the intensive that matches their 2018-19 Season level. Dancers not currently at BBT are invited to take a placement class to determine the intensive in which they should enroll. Please contact School Director Liz Farotte Heenan at lizfh@berkeleyballet.org to schedule a placement class.

Note: Guaranteed enrollment is now open through April 30, 2019.

Advanced Intensive

This summer’s advanced workshop will feature a different master teacher each week, providing dancers currently enrolled in Levels 6-8 (13-21 years of age) with the opportunity to challenge themselves in new and complementary ways. Artistic foci include: classical, neoclassical, and contemporary repertoire; choreography and improvisation; and somatic work.

Guest Faculty includes: Joanna Berman, Sandra Chinn, Sandra Jennings, Vanessa Thiessen

Tuition: Dancers may enroll in one, two, three, or all four weeks

$450, Single week enrollment

$850, 2 week enrollment

$1,200, 3 week enrollment

$1,500, 4 week enrollment

June 17-June 28 & August 5-August 16; Monday–Friday, 9:30am-4:30pm

Week 1: Monday, June 17 - Friday, June 21
Week 2: Monday, June 24 - Friday, June 28
Week 3: Monday, August 5 - Friday, August 9
Week 4: Monday, August 12 - Friday, August 16

Intermediate Intensive

A three-week intensive designed to push dancers currently enrolled in Levels 4 & 5 ( 10-16 years of age) technically and artistically, this year’s program will focus on a different classical ballet each week with master teacher Vanessa Thiessen, who will also work with the dancers on contemporary choreography in the afternoons.

Tuition: Dancers may enroll in one, two, three, or all four weeks

$450, Single week enrollment

$850, 2 week enrollment

$1,200, 3 week enrollment

July 8-July 26; Monday–Friday, 9:30am-4:30pm

Week 1: Swan Lake (Monday, July 8 - Friday, July 12)
Week 2: Don Quixote (Monday, July 15 - Friday, July 19)
Week 3: Giselle (Monday, July 22 - Friday, July 26)

Can’t join us for a full week of summer intensive?

Check out BBT’s Intermediate and Advanced Ballet Brush Up classes to refine your technique and challenge yourself throughout the summer months!

 
Photo by Natalia Perez

Photo by Natalia Perez